Well, I guess it’s really pork one way with three different applications, but now that I’ve got your attention…

On Superbowl Sunday, I made country pork ribs for the first time.

Ribs ready to sear, y'hear?

I seasoned the ribs with Penzey’s Barbecue of the Americas and smoked paprika. Then, after somewhat searing both sides, cooked ‘em slow and low with one sweet onion and a bottle of beer.

Slow and low, that is the tempo!

I also made a BBQ sauce, using a recipe from Mastering the Grill (Andrew Schloss and David Joachim)  as the jump-off point: Sweet, Hot and Sour BBQ Sauce. It’s ketchup and honey mustard in a 2:1 ratio with brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, Tabasco (I used sriracha) and black pepper. Pretty simple, but pretty acidic. I didn’t like the sauce at first, so I added molasses then a little soy sauce to mellow it out. Not to be immodest, but it really was quite tasty with the pork.

So, how to pull off pork three ways? Like this!

Lunch: ribs and peas

Dinner: pulled pork nachos topped with cheddar & bits of jalapeno–
I served brown and red rice cooked in chicken broth on the side

Pulled porkapalooza!

Breakfast: cheesy eggs with pulled pork and sprigs of cilantro rolled up in a warm flour tortilla

Cheesy eggs + pulled pork + tortilla = breakfast

Makes you want to pork out right now, doesn’t it? Admitting it is your first step toward recovery. :) Go for it!

