Have you ever seen a goose egg? Held one in your hand?

Attempted to crack its shell and realized, “Wait–this is different?!”

Holy yoke!

Last week, we visited our friends’ farm and returned home with two goose eggs–good for baking, they said. What better way to showcase a farm-fresh local ingredient than to bake a recipe from a very talented local pastry chef? I googled and determined 1 goose egg should approximate 2 hen eggs. Okeydoke.

Here is a new recipe I tried from Tom Goddard. He and his wife, Ragna Tischler-Goddard, tea maven extraordinaire, own and operate Sundial Gardens (Higganum, CT)–a place any tea lover in the Land of Steady Habits should visit. Their fine teas and specialty foods are also available on their website–as is Tom’s wonderful recipe for Sherry-Almond Tea Cake. http://www.sundialgardens.com/

Make the pan pretty.

Tom’s recipe calls for whole almonds. I used sliced ones as that’s what I had on hand. I also substituted Harvey’s Bristol Cream for the medium-dry sherry specified. Hey, you know where I live. I can’t buy liquor on Sundays! I might add, the HBC worked just fine.

Done!

Click on Sundial RECIPES for the details–and to compare my cake picture to Tom’s! :) How’d I do?

Not bad for amateur hour, eh?

You’ve gotta try this cake. I’m sending virtual slices to those who are too far from me to enjoy. I wish you were here to share the deliciousness and the calories! Go make a cup of tea and let’s pretend. :)

