chicken salad

chicken salad over avocado

How ’bout we dress things up with a new twist on an old, much-loved family recipe? My mom gave this to me on a recipe card labeled “Dressing for Potato Salad” from Nanny/Ma. And how I loved Nanny’s potato salad! It’s a classic. The original recipe can be used to make potato salad for 5 pounds of taters!

I thought I’d change it up ever so slightly by subbing rice vinegar for white vinegar and adding celery seed and a little sesame oil. I really enjoyed it both in my chicken salad and blended into broccoli slaw as a side dish.

DRESSING FOR CHICKEN SALAD, SLAW & POTATO SALAD
1 cup mayo
½ cup rice vinegar (white vinegar if you want to do it the original way)
¼ cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon celery seed
1 teaspoon sesame oil

Add ½ cup dressing per pound of meat. Don’t forget to try this dressing on broccoli slaw, too!

I  added ½ cup of golden raisins and ½ diced pecans to a pound of chicken tenders I had roasted with salt, California seasoned pepper (Penzey’s) and rosemary. I served it over ½ a sliced avocado and really liked it…which is a good thing since I’ll be having it for lunch AGAIN. :)

I’m still working on my avocado fan. It is one of many self-assigned development opportunities. Let’s face it, it tastes good even if it isn’t picture-perfect. I learned I was supposed to present the avocado fan bottom up and fanned over the top. What did you expect from amateur hour? The good news is, this is definitely another sexy salad.

My not-so-fancy avocado fan–a work in progress!

Wait, wait! I did it! I made a fancy avo fan. Lookie here!

avocado fan

I did it! I did it!

Just goes to show ya, you can do anything when you put your mind to it. Thanks, coach!

Katty’s note: 1/2 cup of dressing is just the right amount for a 12 oz. bag of broccoli slaw. :)