Katty: Do you like corn chowder?

Lynn: You know if you like something, I don’t like it. You like smoked things; I don’t. You like cheeses I would never eat, like Brie.

Katty: Um, OK. What don’t you like about corn chowder?

Lynn: That there are no clams in it.

This bit of comic diversion was brought to you by an old friend–someone who, like me, can’t help but speak the truth (and be funny!).

I was beyond psyched to find native–yeah, real native, straight from Route 17 in Portland–butter ‘n sugar corn at one of my favorite farm stands, Q-P Market. To showcase it, I decided to make corn chowder.

What’s fun about soups is how simple it is to customize them–no rules, no science…it’s up to you! I used a classic Better Homes & Gardens recipe as a jump-off point, added a tip I learned from fellow Chowhound adamshoe last year along with some garlic, cilantro and cream and stirred up the following!

I didn’t thicken it, but you can if you wish. My mom recommends thickening with cornstarch rather than flour.

NATIVE CORN CHOWDER

6 ears corn
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion (I used a Vidalia), chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
2 new potatoes, unpeeled and cubed
3 sprigs fresh cilantro, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
14 oz. can of chicken broth
2 cups milk (I used Over the Moon 1 percent)
½ cup heavy cream
3/4 teaspoon salt
pepper to taste
3 slices bacon, cooked till crisp, then drained and crumbled (I love Bob Evans maple!)

Cut kernels off cobs, set corn aside and save cobs!

In a large stockpot, cook garlic onion and green pepper in hot oil till onion is tender, but not brown.

Add corn, broth, milk, potatoes and cobs. Bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered 10 to 15 minutes, or till potatoes are tender.

Remove cobs. Add salt, pepper, heavy cream and crumbled bacon.

Though there aren’t any clams in it, I hope you enjoy it! I have been since last week!

Soup’s on! What are you waiting for?

