I ♥ almond horns. You know, those crispy outside/chewy inside crescents of almond paste, covered with almonds, dipped in dark chocolate, often found in bakeries. Probably fortunate I can’t think of anywhere near me that makes them, as I’m more than a little nutty about these particular almond-y goodies. So I was pleasantly surprised to learn just how EASY they are to bake at home. Easy like Sunday mornin’, yeah!

I’d heard good things about Love’n Bake Almond Paste (gotta love it for the name alone, no?) and anxiously awaited the arrival of a three-pack at my doorstep.


The Love’n Bake site has an entire treasure trove of recipes, where I found this one. I made but a few minor changes.

  • Omitted the apricot glaze–the variety I’m familiar with doesn’t have one
  • Used my 1 oz. ice cream scoop to portion out the dough, so mine are a little smaller. Kind of a joke, really. It’s just an excuse to have two rather than one larger one!
  • Beat an egg to use as an egg wash before rolling each cookie in the almonds
  • Half a cup of melted chocolate gets the job done purr-fectly!

ALMOND HORNS from Love’n Bake

1 (10 oz.) can Love’n Bake Almond Paste
3/4 cup sugar
2 whole eggs (1 for the cookie dough; 1 for the egg wash)
sliced almonds (I used slivered almonds, so mine look a little rustic!)
1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. On slow speed, using a mixer with a paddle attachment, mix almond paste with sugar. Gradually add one egg to create a smooth paste. Mix till well blended. It’ll look like this.


Next, beat the other egg. Spread almonds on a large plate. Scoop dough (a cookie scoop is handy here–original recipe calls for scant 1/4 cup of dough) and roll into balls.


Take each ball, roll into a three-inch long log. Hey, now–“All kids love Log!”

Dip into egg wash, then roll in the almonds. Curve each log into a crescent shape. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and load ‘em up!


Bake until cookies are lightly browned. In my oven, it was 15 minutes, but please take a look at the 12-minute mark to see how they do at your house.


See how nice ‘n toasty the almonds become? Remove horns from oven and cool on a wire rack. They will firm up as they cool.

Melt the chocolate and dip each horn, both ends.


I understand these keep well in the freezer; however, treats are made for sharing, so I will store them in a tightly sealed container and make sure they find good (lovin’?!) homes within the next 3-4 days.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there, but especially to mine! You ‘n me against the world since 1975, Mama! I’m so lucky to have a strong lady like you always in my corner. I couldn’t possibly love you more.

Love,
Hopey

