For your gelato or ice cream or simply your spoon, there’s nothing like creamy peanut butter sauce. As a native New Englander, I’ve always loved the peanut butter sauce at Friendly’s. But it struck me I might love it even more with a bourbon caramel twist–so I made it happen. And so can you. Ready?

PEANUT BUTTER BOURBON CARAMEL SAUCE

First, make the salted caramel. In a small saucepan, over medium-high heat, whisk together:

2 tablespoons light brown sugar
2 tablespoon heavy cream
2 tablespoon butter
good pinch of Kosher salt

Continue to whisk till sugar dissolves, then cook for one more minute. Remove from heat and add:

2 tablespoons Maker’s Mark bourbon
¼ cup light Karo syrup
½ cup creamy peanut butter (I used Nature’s Promise–Stop & Shop’s organic label)
2 teaspoons light brown sugar

It will take a bit for the peanut butter to melt in, so be patient and keep whisking. Once it’s nice and smooth, add:

¼ cup heavy cream
½ teaspoon vanilla
one more good pinch Kosher salt

Let cool and store in the fridge. When it’s time to serve, reheat very gently and very slowly in the microwave–on the defrost setting for maybe 10 seconds or so to start. I swirled a quarter cup’s worth (by spoonful, using a very tiny spoon) into a batch of stracciatella I made last night to make it extra-special good. It worked. :)

Because I’m wired funny, “Peanut Butter” gets stuck in my head every time I’m making something with this ingredient. I confess to singing it aloud as I’m putting the recipe together. I’m sharing so you can sing along, too! “It takes a lot of little nuts to get things done!” Truer words never sung or spoken. C’mon now, sing it with me! Oh, and grab a spoon and dig in!

