P1160190

I often say I’m a lucky ladybug. I try all sorts of things and am decently successful at many of them. Except for math, perhaps. And when it comes to making popsicles, there’s a bit of math and science in the mix, especially where alcohol is concerned.

A dear friend sent me rocket popsicle molds earlier this summer and I couldn’t wait to try them. “I’ll make coconut margarita popsicles!” Now, your friend The Kat tends to pour generously. That’s a mistake when you’re trying to fuel rockets to freeze. I filled the molds, placed them in their tray in the freezer for a good 48 hours, and invited my #1 taster to try them with me after work.

BUT THEY WERE LIQUID.
THEY DID NOT FREEZE WHATSOEVER.
SO WE DRANK THEM.

They were damn fine margaritas (I’ll share soon!), but they weren’t popsicles. Lesson learned. Mission aborted–or, rather, repurposed. Less alcohol for rocket launch. And at last, we have liftoff! Guitar! Drums!

Remember Fudgesicles? These are the Vietnamese grown-up version. Slightly fudgy, wicked coffee, icy and refreshing. NOM!

VIETNAMESE COFFEE POPSICLES

1½ tablespoons strong ground coffee (I use decaf Cafe Du Monde–you know me, I don’t lack energy!)
1¼ cups hot water
2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon sweetened condensed milk
1 tablespoon Malibu rum
1½ teaspoons cocoa powder
1½  teaspoons milk

I have a neato contraption to brew Vietnamese coffee individually, just as they do in restaurants.

P1160180

I used it to brew bit by bit as 1¼ cups of water is more than it will hold at one time.

Brew coffee. Whisk together sweetened condensed milk, milk, cocoa powder and Malibu. Pour into popsicle molds and freeze. My rocket molds need 1/2 inch of space to allow for expansion. You don’t want them to liftoff without you, after all. Freeze and enjoy!

P1160186