Could this be the ultimate CCC?

Hello, gorgeous!

Those were literally the first two words out of my mouth when I removed this batch of chocolate chip cookies from the oven yesterday, followed soon thereafter by two more:  Got milk?

Playing in the kitchen is all about inspiration from a variety of sources. These cookies were inspired by my quest for the ultimate chocolate chip cookie (CCC for short) and fueled by recipes I found while googling:

http://wordstoeatby.blogspot.com/2004/12/best-homemade-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

and

http://notwithoutsalt.com/2009/01/28/the-last-chocolate-chip-cookie/

For whatever reason, as strikingly similar as my recipe was to the links above, my cookies don’t look quite the same. These are pretty much Debbie’s cookies with Ashley’s finishing salt and turbinado twists, minus the rolled dough log. And, quoting Debbie in shorthand, “HFS” indeed!

Purrfection!

I’m blown away by how good they taste, so here are my little nuances:

Use softened, regular (salted) butter.
Do go 50/50 with white/turbinado sugar. Great idea!
Add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans.
I used 1/2 cup of dark chocolate Callebaut chunks and shards. As much of a chocoholic as I am, this is just the right amount of chocolate for me.

Use a generous scoop to make BIG cookies. These beauties were meant to live large.

Ready to roll!

Do add finishing salt to each cookie. I did so at the halfway point of baking (6 minutes).

Halfway to heaven--time to add the finishing salt!

I was thrilled to find the bulk spices counter at Whole Foods. There, you can get just a little bit of something you may need for just one recipe. I’ve always wanted to try finishing salts, anyway, and was able to pick up a little baggie of Australian flake salt for approximately $1.50 (it was just under $30/pound).

Australian flake salt = pretty in pink

One last note–as stunning as these cookies are, they were meant to be shared. Some have already traveled to Manhattan; others are on a longer journey, which brings me to a closing sappy note about friendship.

As I stood in line at the post office minutes before closing time yesterday, realizing I had blasted out of the house without the address for my delivery (seriously?!), I began calling friends fast and furious. Who will answer? Who will research this for me so I can get this package in the mail while the cookies are fresh and before we get clobbered with snow? Let me propose a definition of true friendship right now. A true friend will answer, google, reserve any questions or judgments, and look forward to hearing the details later. I am truly lucky to have not one, but two friends who did just that…and one who left a message. 🙂 Love you guys!

April Katt guards cookies as they cool.

