Sugar katties--ready to bake!

A local restaurant, Coyote Blue, makes crispy sugar cookies in coyote shapes to serve with their signature dessert coffee. I always shamelessly request extra coyotes and was inspired to make my own–but in cat shapes, of course!

I don’t mind sharing–I have a major development opportunity in the area of rolling dough and cutting out shapes. True to form, I picked a difficult shape to work with, as tails add complication. So here is my self-report card with grades you may recall from your 70s childhood: E for Excellent, VG for Very Good, S for Satisfactory, NI for Needs Improvement.

Effort: VG
Execution: S
The silhouette shapes were challenging to move from baking sheet to cookie rack in one piece; therefore, three of my sugar katties are of the Manx variety. Tip: use a spatula big enough to support each cookie!

Taste: E
Just as good as Janey’s and Coyote Blue’s.

Rolling Skills/Symmetry: NI
Must learn to roll dough evenly. I involuntarily baked a couple of “seal points” because the ears were thinner and baked to a deeper brown color. To replicate this cool effect, attempt to place the ears of the cutter closer to the thinner edge of your dough. Or maybe your dough is all even?!

Seal point and Manx sugar katties coolin' on the rack!

I halved the recipe from my mom’s handwritten version from the Women’s Home Companion Cookbook. By the way, my mom grades recipes, too–does yours? This one was marked “Crisp” and “Excellent!”

SUGAR COOKIES
Halved from the Women’s Home Companion Cookbook

1 3/4 cups flour
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, well-beaten
3/4 teaspoons vanilla

Joy of Baking recommends chilling the dough “about one hour or until firm enough to roll.” My mom historically skipped this step. She has a magical kitchen and things tend to work out for her regardless.

Roll dough on a lightly floured surface. Cut out shapes and sprinkle with colored sugar. Bake on parchment paper at 400 degrees F for 6-10 minutes, depending how thick you rolled the dough and the shapes you chose. My goal was slightly less than ¼ inch thick. Watch them carefully. You’ll want to pull them from the oven when the edges just begin to brown–or, in this case, when the cats’ ears develop seal points!

 Won’t you be my neighbor? I shouldn’t eat all these cookies by myself, but I just might!

"Welcome to my kitchen, little bear!"

 P.S. Is this not the world’s cutest kitchen timer?

