A thank you note to Giada De Laurentiis for inspiring a new dish in Katty’s Kitchen!

Capellini Caprese--everybody wants some!

Dear Giada,   

I’ve seen so many variations on your checca sauce pop up of late, I thought I’d look into how you do it. You see, caprese and I are old friends. Adding pasta to the mix only makes it better in my book.   

Now that I’ve found your original recipes, I took parts from each of them…

SPAGHETTINI WITH CHECCA SAUCE

and
PENNE WITH BABY MOZZARELLA, TOMATOES AND HERBS

…to create a delicious pasta dish featuring locally-made, fresh mozzarella from Liuzzi’s in North Haven, CT…  
 
 

 

 

…along with some fresh oregano and thyme from my own deck.

The Italian flag of fresh produce right heah!

 
CAPELLINI CAPRESE ALLA KATTY

8 ounces capellini
3 garlic cloves, pressed
1 pint grape tomatoes
1 ounce piece of Pecorino Romano, coarsely chopped
8 to 10 fresh basil leaves
handful of fresh parsley, coarsely chopped
2 sprigs fresh oregano (leaves only)
2 sprigs fresh thyme (leaves only)
salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
4 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

Combine all ingredients (except pasta!) in a food processor. Pulse until the tomatoes are coarsely chopped. Do not puree.  

Like this!

 Cook the capellini according to package directions (just two minutes for De Cecco, my favorite in a box). Reserve 1/4 cup of pasta water, then drain. Toss the pasta with the tomato mixture and fresh mozzarella in a large bowl with the 1/4 cup of pasta water. Serve immediamente!

Freshly-made sausages from your favorite local Italian market (this is mine below!) pair beautifully with this dish. 

Public Market (Middletown, CT)

