Cherry Almond Scone with Almond Glaze

A few weeks ago, I made my own biscuits for the first time. My mom noticed there’s not much difference between biscuits and scones by way of recipe–except biscuits call for melted butter vs. cutting in butter for scones.

Cutting in butter seems fussy and not my style, so following my mom’s observation, I made very slight tweaks to the recipe my Foodbuzz friends posted. The ingredients are the same (except ½ cup fewer cherries, no salt, more extract), but the process is different. I’ve also added an almond glaze ’cause this kat rolls sweet.  Consider these a lazy–katlike?–take on scones. Thanks for inspiring this one, CC Recipe!

Continuing on my cherry kick after last week’s pickin’, here’s another tasty twist on cherries and almonds.

CHERRY ALMOND SCONES WITH ALMOND GLAZE

2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder (I used  Lievito Pane degli Angeli per Dolci)
3 tablespoons sugar
1 egg
½ cup Bing cherries (cut in eighths)
½ cup sliced almonds
1 teaspoon almond extract (original recipe called for ½ teaspoon–but mo’ is betta!)
4 tablespoons butter, melted
3/4 cup heavy cream

Combine dry ingredients. Melt butter, beat egg separately. Add cream and almond extract to butter. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Add cherries.

Use an ice cream scoop to portion the dough. Brush tops with additional heavy cream, then sprinkle turbinado sugar.

Ready to bake!

Bake for 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees F. Cool on baking rack. Drizzle with almond glaze.

ALMOND GLAZE

1/3 cup powdered sugar
1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract
1-2 teaspoons milk

Time to glaze!

