Happy (belated) 4th of July!

Now that I’ve moved on to the next native berry and picked my first blues of the season, I was ready to make a third variation on my cherry almond cake from few weeks back…until my friend Christina, a.k.a. Culinspiration, tempted me by sharing a link for raspberry frangipane cake. Oooooh! 

I’m a fool for all things almondy. But as much as a sugar girl as I am, there was QUITE A BIT in the first recipe I saw–not to mention 2 sticks o’butter and almond paste, which is already plenty sweet. Hmm. So I poked around, found an old Bon Appétit recipe, then hacked it to come up with the following. It is dense, delicious, all sorts of almondy and bursting with blueberries. Better still, it’s impressively good for being so darned low-fuss. 

Speaking of fuss, some recipes make things harder than they need to be! Case in point: parchment paper. I have a brand-new,  nonstick springform pan (thank you, IKEA!). I buttered it, baked my cake  et voilà–perfection. No need to go nuts and cut out rounds of parchment like paper dollies. Trust me, we can keep it simple. 

KATTY’S BLUEBERRY FRANGIPANE CAKE 

butter to grease pan
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted
3 large eggs
2/3 cup sugar
½ cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup milk (as usual, I used Simply Smart 1% milk that tastes like whole milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups fresh blueberries
1 7-oz. tube almond paste 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter 8-inch diameter springform pan. Toast almonds and sprinkle evenly over bottom of springform pan. 

 

Use mixer to beat 2 eggs, sugar, oil, milk and vanilla till smooth. Add flour and salt, beat just till combined. Stir in blueberries. 

Hey, batter batter!

 Spread batter evenly over almonds. 

Layer one is done!

Cut almond paste into small pieces. Use mixer to beat 1 egg and paste till just blended. Spoon almond mixture over cake batter and smooth with a knife or spatula. 

 

Bake till toothpick inserted into center comes out clean–about 50 minutes. 

 

Run knife around perimeter of pan to loosen cake. “Unbuckle” pan and transfer to a serving plate. 

Unbuckled!

 Serve warm or at room temp. I recommend sending any additional slices for a brief ride in the microwave before serving. 

 

Happy belated 4th of July from Katty’s Kitchen! 

April Katt salutes everyone who has served--past and present!

