Remember my Capellini Caprese, inspired by Giada? Well, now that tomatoes are ready for the pickin’ right on my deck, I revisited this recipe and came up with yet another tasty twist–featuring native yellow pear and grape tomatoes, ricotta salata and chunks of avocado.

KATTY’S SUMMER PASTA

8 ounces capellini
3 garlic cloves, pressed (quite honestly, I think 2 cloves would be plenty next time!)
2 cups grape and yellow pear tomatoes
8 to 10 fresh basil leaves (I used cinnamon basil, do you love it, too?)
handful of fresh parsley, coarsely chopped
2 sprigs fresh oregano (leaves only)
2 sprigs fresh thyme (leaves only)
freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup ricotta salata, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 avocado, cubed

"Let me be your blender, baby, honey, I can whip, chop and puree..."

Combine all ingredients (except pasta and avocado) in a food processor. Right, not a blender, but I can’t throw Bonnie Raitt in if I say food processor! Pulse until the tomatoes are coarsely chopped. Do not puree.  Like this! Mind you, I added the pasta water here–so it looks “saucier!”

Ready for pasta!

Cook the capellini according to package directions (just two minutes for De Cecco, my favorite in a box)–also handy for summer dining as it’s quick to cook. Reserve 1/4 cup of pasta water and add to tomato/avocado mixture. Toss the pasta with the tomato/avocado sauce in a large mixing bowl.

Summer pasta is served–enjoy!

