As mentioned previously, my love for all things almondy knows no boundaries, so it should come as no surprise I’m sharing a recipe for almond vinaigrette. I found it in The Hartford Courant last year–“Taking Vanilla Beyond Sweetness.” So delicious, you’ll find yourself dipping leaves in the bowl of dressing to sample it as you’re making it. And maybe even licking the plate when you’re through with your salad…

ALMOND VINAIGRETTE
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon white pepper
1/2 cup canola oil
1/4 cup rice vinegar

Whisk mustard, syrup, salt, pepper and both extracts in a bowl. Add canola in a fine stream, whisking continuously till incorporated. This step emulsifies the dressing and keeps it from separating. Next, slowly whisk in the vinegar. Yields 3/4 cup.

I was out of white pepper–if you don’t have it handy, black pepper is fine, too. And, boy, this is particularly fab drizzled over local produce.

Have you ever seen a lemon cucumber?

The lemon cucumbers came from a friend’s garden. Tomatoes, of course, are plentiful out on the deck.

My summer salad post wouldn’t be complete without a nod to one of my favorite local farm stands, where I get whatever isn’t growing on my deck!

Berruti’s, home of the best corn I’ve had this year, as well as perfect peaches and lots of lovely lettuce!

Montauk corn from Berruti's

 Happy weekend!
>>^..^<<

