Do you freehand recipes–a little bit of this, a little bit of that? I do to a degree, but more often than not, I take notes as I experiment JUST IN CASE whatever I come up with is worth repeating.

I had always made this with Pillsbury pie crust (shhhh!), but thought it would be fun to make topped with cheddar biscuits instead. Remember those delicious Cook’s Illustrated Best Drop Biscuits from the summer? Simply halve that recipe–don’t worry about unsalted butter, I never do– and add the following to the dry ingredients:

2 oz. shredded cheddar
about 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped
scant 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (definitely adds heat!)
scant 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Now for the pie part!

CHICKEN POT PIE WITH CHEDDAR ROSEMARY BISCUITS

2 tablespoons butter
1 large clove garlic, minced
3/4 pound chicken breast or tenders
4 carrots (by now you know how you should cut them, HA HA!)
1 red potato, diced
½ cup fresh or frozen green beans
½ cup peas (even though I forgot them this time!)
4 oz.  mushrooms (I used baby bellas)
good pinch of rosemary, chopped
1 ½ cups chicken stock
soy sauce, generous splash (I use low-sodium)
2 tablespoons flour to thicken

Of course, vegetables taste better crinkle-cut, but you can just chop them if you must.

Boil the carrots in the chicken stock for about 10 minutes or so. Meanwhile, melt the butter and add the garlic, chicken, mushrooms and rosemary to a good-sized saute pan. Cook till chicken is no longer pink, then add cooked carrots and chicken stock, potatoes, green beans, soy sauce and freshly ground pepper. Oh, and peas, too, if you’re including them. Sprinkle flour over mixture, stir to thicken and continue to cook just a bit. Pour this mixture into a 10″ pie dish.

Now it’s time to top this mixture with the biscuits. I used a medium ice cream scoop to form them. Oh, and dig how the flash created blue light special biscuits at the bottom of the photo. Nice going, Katty.

Bake at 475 degrees F for 20 minutes, or till the biscuits are golden on top.

Just for fun, I wanted to share some purr-fectly fitting oven mitts  (thank you very much, Hedy and Wal!) I received for Christmas. What else would you expect from Katty’s Kitchen?

