Ever in the mood for just a little somethin’ sweet? Well, welcome to my world where I feel that way daily!

Yesterday I wanted to try a recipe from the Hartford Courant for almond shortbread, then thought, “Do I really want a whole pan of that in the house? No.” So I decided to halve the recipe and use the mini food processor to make it so. If you don’t have a food processor (mini or otherwise), simply buy almond flour and use a mixer. I already had almond flour on hand, but used the mini FP just to make sure it all fit–and it does!

I added almond extract to amp the almond-y-ness. You can top these with drizzled melted chocolate, but I kept ’em plain and simple.

ALMOND SHORTBREAD
adapted from the Hartford Courant Recipe Exchange and Linda Giuca

¼ cup almond flour (or ¼ cup almonds processed till finely ground in a food processor)
¼ cup sugar
1 cup flour
¼ teaspoon salt
1 stick butter (salted), softened
3/4 teaspoon almond extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Add almond flour, sugar, flour and salt to bowl. Pulse to blend. Add softened butter and process till well blended. Again, if you’re not using a mini food processor, you can pull this off easily with a mixer.

Butter a 4 x 6″ (or similar) casserole dish. Pat dough into the dish, smooth the top of the dough as best you can, then score the dough into shapes. I cut into basic bars, then cut them into smaller bite-sized pieces when they were done baking. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. The top of the shortbread will be a pale golden color. Cut into the shapes you wish when the shortbread comes out of the oven. They may not be particularly pretty, but they are pretty tasty!


Outside Katty’s Kitchen, it’s pouring again. I promised I’d try to remember this song next time the rain came. It’s gotta be the happiest song about rain I know. Wishing you laughter in the rain as you walk off the calories from these scrumptious shortbread snickity-snacks!

