“Sometimes you feel like a nut–sometimes you don’t!”
Well, in real life, oftentimes, I do feel like a nut…but NOT when it comes to baked goodies! šŸ˜›

We’ve been down the brownie path a time or four in Katty’s Kitchen–“Supernatural” key lime cheesecake swirl, strawberry cheesecake swirl, lavender, browned butter. So what would make a brownie fresh ‘n different?

Rather than bake a candy bar into a brownie, I was drawn to the idea of creating a layer in the brownie like a candy bar. Yes, a coconutty layer, a la the inside of a Mounds, surrounded by brownie batter. This super-easy riff on my go-to Ghirardelli recipe was just what this kat had in mind. See what you think!

MOUNDS BROWNIES
adapted from my all-time favorite brownie recipe from Ghirardelli

For the brownies
2 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup butter (1 stick), melted
3/4 cup Ghirardelli Sweet Ground Chocolate & Cocoa
2/3 cup unsifted flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup dark chocolate chunks (I chopped up Valrhona feves)

For the Mounds layer
1 cup unsweetened coconut
1/2 can sweetened condensed milk

Stir 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk into 1 cup of coconut in a small bowl.


Combine thoroughly; set aside.


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Using a spoon, stir eggs with sugar and vanilla; add butter.

“Chop-chop with the chocolate!”

Now here’s my crazy kat trick: I save an empty Ghirardelli can to shake all the dry ingredients together ’cause I find sifting to be a chore. So shake or sift–however you roll!

Stir dry ingredients into egg mixture. Stir in chocolate chunks. Spread half the batter in a buttered 8″ square pan.

As evenly as you can, spoon the coconut mixture over the bottom brownie batter layer. You can probably do a neater job of it than I did.


Smooth the coconut layer out as evenly as possible.
Another development opportunity for me, I know–I know!


Now, cover the coconut layer completely with the remaining brownie batter.


Take your time!

Slow ‘n steady wins the race!

Bake for 35 minutes. Cool completely before cutting and enjoying!


So much for seven days in sunny June earlier this week, but it sure was great weather for baking–and eating–brownies! AHM NOM NOM NOM! Thankfully, today’s blue skies and sunshine will be perfect for biking them off! WHEW!

