NO VAMPIRES. That’s right. There were no vampires anywhere near my neighborhood when I roasted grape tomatoes not once, but twice, last week. Even when it’s hot outside, you can pull this off with just 20 minutes in the oven.

How delicious roasted tomatoes taste over your favorite ravioli! A trip to Franklin Avenue netted me some nice meat ravs from Di Fiore and freshly-filled cannoli from Mozzicato DePasquale. But let’s get going on dinner first–it’s quick ‘n easy and oh-so good!

ROASTED GRAPE TOMATOES
adapted from Food & Wine

2 pints grape tomatoes
3 large (or 6 small) garlic cloves
olive oil to coat the bottom of your baking dish
1 teaspoon kosher salt
freshly ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
fresh basil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Drizzle olive oil to coat 9 x 13″ glass baking dish. Roll the tomatoes around in the olive oil to coat. Sprinkle with kosher salt, pepper and crushed red pepper. Gently smash the garlic cloves with the side of your knife and add to baking dish. Make sure all the tomatoes are in an even layer.


Let ’em roast for 10 minutes, turn ’em over, then 10 more minutes of roasting and you’re done with the oven!


I used a potato masher to give the tomatoes a squeeze. Be careful–they’re hot little devils and have a tendency to squirt where you don’t want them to go: walls and windows and clothes, oh my! Got fresh basil? I snipped some lemon basil with scissors.


Spoon over your ravioli, or pasta, or you can just eat them plain, so I’m told. I’d definitely find some good bread if I had no ravs, that’s for sure. Buon appetito from Hartford’s Little Italy and Katty’s Kitchen!

