It’s been hot in my neck of the woods–and is on its way to hotter. Not that it ever stops me from baking. Are you kidding–I’m onto my third round of Mounds brownies already! But seems like time for a cool change. Let’s go Greek and make some tzatziki and lamburgers!

Rocky Hill’s West Side Market is my usual lamburger purveyor of choice, but this time I tried New Zealand lamb patties from Whole Foods. Both are delicious–I always season simply with salt, pepper and crushed rosemary. But they’re even better served with tzatziki, so let’s whip some up!

TZATZIKI
adapted ever so slightly from a very tasty recipe on About.com

1 ½ tablespoons olive oil
1 ½ teaspoons vinegar
1 clove garlic, pressed
¼ teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon white pepper
7 oz. Fage Total Greek yogurt
½ cup sour cream
½ English cucumber, grated (don’t peel!)
2 teaspoons chopped dill

Whisk together oil, vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper in small bowl.


Add yogurt and sour cream.
Shred cucumber. Dig my handy shredding box!


Add dill and shredded cuke to the rest of the ingredients.


Cool as a cucumber and oh so creamy! No vampires anywhere in sight, either!


Tzatziki loves a lamburger.

Sad to say, that’s not Connecti-corn hiding behind the main attraction (shhh, I made this more than a month ago). But, of course, native corn, outstanding in its field, is now available! Berruti’s in South Glastonbury had Providence butter and sugar last week–and their “even better” Montauk variety should be out now. May require another ride across the river this afternoon.

My goal for today, and for the next few of increasing heat, humidity and haze: to be a cool cat. You stay cool, too!

