It’s now officially Easter because I woke up today and baked THESE COOKIES.

I’ve shared Nanny’s oatmeal cookies previously, only to realize when I looked at my handwritten recipe, it’s not EXACTLY the same as what’s on the Quaker site now. So, to be sure we have it documented properly, here we go. I’m pretty sure Nanny’s recipe originated from the Quaker oats canister, but then recipes change over time, so let’s get it right for old times’ sake. And for Nanny!

Now, a reminder about my grandmother and one of the many things that made her so cool. Nanny put M&Ms in her oatmeal cookies. And every holiday, she’d head down here with Poppy and a giant platter of them for my cousins and me. She must have made AT LEAST two or three batches, because in my mind’s eye, I can still see those cookies piled high. All of us kids (and my uncles) still remember them fondly–and I’m proud to carry on her holiday baking tradition in her memory.

This year, I wanted to try a Mounds variation just to be a little different. If you love chocolate and coconut together, these will rock your world. If not, stick to Nanny’s original recipe and add a cup of M&Ms instead. I only use 1/2 a cup, but that’s just because Nanny was a whole lot cooler than I am.

NANNY’S OATMEAL COOKIES–WITH A MOUNDS TWIST!

3/4 cup salted butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 cups quick oats, (quick, 1-minute oats–can’t you picture them hurrying somewhere?) uncooked
1/2 cup dark chocolate, chopped (Valrhona in my house)
1/2 cup tender flake coconut (sweetened)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Beat butter, sugars, egg, water and vanilla together until creamy.

Sift together flour, salt and soda. Add to creamed mixture, blend well. Add oats and blend. Then add coconut and blend…then add chopped chocolate (and do what? that’s right), blend.

Original recipe calls for dropping by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets. I used my trusty Zeroll Universal EZ Disher scoop (#60, pink).

I love and highly recommend this scoop for perfect portioning!

Bake in oven preheated to 350 degrees F…in my house, 13.5 minutes is the magic number, but could be anywhere from 12-15 minutes at yours. I find letting the cookies rest on the baking sheet a few minutes makes it easier to move them from sheet to rack.

Makes 5 dozen, except in my kitchen because (block your eyes, Nanny!) IĀ  love to eat the dough raw and always must ensure quality control, once baked, before sharing with others! MOO.

Happy Easter!

