A few weeks back, after much waiting and anticipating, I finally baked the beloved Momofuku corn cookies. I was so high on these cookies, I devoured them with reckless abandon. I portioned out the dough in scoops and froze it to have “on demand” corn cookies, fresh from the oven WHENEVER I WANTED. And I didn’t even share very many of these, no, sirree. You might say I became a bit of a corn cookie cow. MOO.

So what on earth is a corn cookie? Besides delicious, I think of it as a delightfully corny sugar cookie: crispy outside, chewy inside, loaded with the sweet, sweet flavor of fresh corn.

Before I get on with the recipe, there are three key ingredients you’ll need to find. The first is easy: corn flour. Not to worry about this ingredient being a one-trick pony, it’s a brilliant addition to corn bread or corn muffins and keeps nicely in the fridge. Bob’s Red Mill is readily available in most supermarkets.

The second is fairly easy, too: EXCELLENT, high-butterfat content BUTTER. My specialty butter of choice is Vermont Creamery’s cultured butter, and as you may know, I prefer my butter salted. Around holiday time, you can sometimes find it at Stop & Shop (or they might order it for you if I ask). Year round, Whole Foods has it.

The third may prove more challenging, depending on where you live. In my neck of the woods, no local stores carry freeze-dried corn (brand name: Just Corn). I ordered mine on Amazon. If you’re lucky, you may be able to pick it up at Whole Foods (but NOT in Glastonbury!) or a health food store. You blend the corn in a food processor to form a powder.

Now that we’ve got the special ingredients out of the way, I must tell you how to bake these bad boys, so here we go!

Corn Cookies
adapted from Momofuku Milk Bar via Mac & Cheese

14 tablespoons Vermont Creamery cultured butter (salted), at room temperature (you will have a spare 2 tablespoons from the Vermont Creamery log to enjoy on bread!)
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 egg
1 1/3 cups flour
1/4 cup corn flour
2/3 cup freeze-dried corn powder (Just Corn)
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon Kosher salt

schmantzy salt for the top of your cookies–I used Australian flake salt (hello, Whole Foods bulk section!), my addition

In a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar. Add the egg and beat for 7-8 minutes.

In a separate bowl, combine remaining dry ingredients. Put the mixer on low, per Christina Tosi’s instruction, and add the dry ingredients in several waves just till combined.

Measure out uniform scoops of cookie dough. I measured 1/8 cup scoops (that’s two measuring tablespoons if you don’t have a scoop). But before you bake, you must chill the dough at least one hour (and up to a week!), so scoop, then place the dough balls in a container you can cover tightly and stick in the fridge. They freeze beautifully, too–and can go right into the oven after a brief thaw (20-30 minutes–just about the time it takes for your oven to come up to temp, how convenient!)…that’s 350 degrees F, by the way.

When it’s time to bake, place the chilled scoops on a parchment-lined baking sheet, three across.

In my oven, 14.5 minutes is the magic baking time if you can hit it–otherwise, try 15. The finished cookies should remain a bright, golden yellow with very little browning, except a slight bit at the edges. When you remove them from the oven, sprinkle the tops with Australian flake salt, crumbled between your fingers. Let the cookies cool briefly on the pans before transferring to racks to cool thoroughly.

A closer look at the ever-so-slightly more golden edges here, just so you can see what I mean:


Let your journey to Shangri-La via the corn cookie begin! That’s right! Don’t say I didn’t warn you: THEY’RE ADDICTIVE!

