P1140624

One of my favorite (non-Italian) comfort foods is noodle kugel. It’s a heavy hit of all things rich and delicious, and you’d best believe only full-fat dairy is invited to this particular party.

Though this is a minor adaptation of my Aunt Ellen’s recipe (I added cornflakes to top it, as many people do), I’m pretty sure this is everyone’s noodle kugel recipe. It’s super simple and so satisfying. You can eat it as a side dish, make it your main meal with a vegetable or even eat the leftovers for lunch or breakfast as I do! It heats up beautifully with a splash of milk in the microwave.

NOODLE KUGEL

1 pound full-fat cottage cheese, small curd
1 pound full-fat sour cream
4 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
12 oz. bag of egg noodles

Topping
handfuls of crushed cornflakes
1/2 stick (or so) of butter

Whisk eggs, combine with cottage cheese, sour cream and salt. Boil noodles according to package instructions, drain. Combine noodles with eggs, cottage cheese and sour cream mixture.

Butter a 10″ pie plate. Fill with noodle kugel. Crush cornflakes over top. Dot with butter. Be generous–I use almost half a stick. You’ll want to be sure your oven rack is right in the middle. Bake at 375 degrees F for 1 hour. Take a peek around 50 minutes to make sure the top isn’t burning–just in case your oven runs a bit hotter than mine. If need be, cover top with foil. I didn’t have to do this–hopefully, you won’t either.

Now that I’ve shared part 1, perhaps you’re wondering about part 2! It’s the same story with a sweet twist–brown sugar, cinnamon, dried fruit and tart cherry preserves. No one made it in my family, so I riffed on this base recipe and made my own. Share with you soon!

