P1140526
Up till I made this soup myself, I had never eaten Buffalo chicken soup before. But my curiosity was piqued when one of our friends made it recently. That was all good and fine till I learned it was made from canned cream-of-something and rotisserie chicken. Hmm. I thought, “I can do better than that,” so off to the kitchen I went and came up with this! I can’t compare it, of course, but I was very happy with how it came out. And, if the weather in your neck of the woods is anything like it’s been here in the Land of Steady Habits of late (extended periods of cooler, windier and grayer than it should be!), you may have noticed it’s excellent weather for nice, comforting soup like this. Andiamo, let’s shuffle off to Buffalo!

BUFFALO CHICKEN SOUP

3 carrots (guess how we cut them? HA HA HA!)
3 stalks celery
½ large sweet onion
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
2 cloves garlic
½ stick butter, salted (1/4 cup)
¾ – 1 pound chicken, cubed
4 tablespoons flour to form a roux with the butter/veggies/chicken
3 cups chicken stock
1 cup whole milk
1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot
1 cup shredded cheddar (I like Cabot’s Seriously Sharp)
Salt & pepper to taste

In a large stockpot, melt butter. Cook the celery, onion, carrots and jalapeno in melted butter till tender.  Add chicken; cook till chicken is not pink. Stir in flour to form a roux.

Stir in broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 5 minutes.

Add milk, Frank’s Red Hot and shredded cheddar. Season with salt and pepper to taste. When the cheese has melted and soup has thickened slightly, it’s time to eat!

And there we have it–homemade goodness in a bowl. “I believe in the sunshine, even when it rains!” How about you, amici? “I feel it–and I believe it!” 🙂

