P1150119

Have you noticed the recent resurgence of Rolos? Of course, the classic commercial is still a favorite: “You can roll a Rolo to your pal. It’s chocolate-covered car-a-mel!” It brought me back to the chocolate Rolo cookies I’d tucked away in my recipe files ten years ago and never made. I grabbed a bag of super-cute Rolo minis at the supermarket and was looking forward to making these cookies finally.

Then my balloon landed. “I don’t like chocolate cookies,” said my #1 taster. Whattt? How is that even possible?!

Undaunted, I was determined to make those Rolo minis work. My chocolate chip cookies (CCCs for short) are a big hit around here. I thought I might bake some happiness by wrapping that dough around the Rolos for a caramel CCC twist. What say we let it roll? πŸ˜€

ROLO CCCs

Start with your favorite chocolate chip cookie dough. I originally left out the chocolate chunks, but learned along the way: the dough will be much tastier with finely chopped dark chocolate in it. So, please chop 1/4 cup of your favorite dark chocolate as finely as you can (to the point some of it will be almost powdery) and add it to your dough.

P1150117

Now, if you’re a patient person, store the dough in the fridge for at least 12 hours. Or if your patience approaches sainthood, try holding out for 24-36 hours. Take a peek at the CCC recipe above for the backstory on why it’s worth the wait.

Of course, you can get rollin’ with the Rolos anytime. Take 1 tablespoon of cookie dough.

P1150106

Smoosh a Rolo mini right in the middle.

P1150107

Roll it nice-nice so the candy’s hidden and you have a perfect little ball. Repeat. About 30 times.

P1150112

Now, you see these have no finely chopped chocolate on them. I quickly fixed that by rolling ’em like truffles. Et voilΓ !

Perhaps you’ll have more dough than I had. Somehow, gobs of it mysteriously made their way to my mouth. MOO. You should have at least 30 cookies, maybe more if you’re less prone to quality control. It’s not easy being a perfectionist. πŸ˜‰

Space them out on your cookie sheet–they’ll spread as they bake. Three across worked out great for me. Bake at 350 degrees F for 11-14 minutes (14 in my oven yields a crispy cookie, subtract a minute or two to keep ’em chewy). Sprinkle with schmantzy finishing salt when you take them out of the oven if you’re so inclined.

