P1160229

I’ve been taunting my friend Linda with a recipe I found for these yummy chocolate-covered peanut butter no-bake corn flake treats via Serious Eats. “Whoever makes these first wins a prize,” I challenged. I even bought a big, new box of corn flakes for the occasion.

P1160193

Well, whoever makes these wins, period. They’re super-easy. Just five ingredients and a little time and they’re all yours to enjoy and share. The hardest part is waiting for them to chill in the fridge so you can cut ’em up and dig in.

I don’t think the amount of chocolate was right in the original recipe. I spread very carefully and no way do four ounces of chocolate cover an 8″ x 8″ pan–even with my brilliant (!) addition of vanilla rum and heavy cream to make a lovely shiny coat. So, I added an extra 2 oz. of chocolate. I’m not a fan of peanuts in or on my baked–or no-baked–treats, so I omitted them and added extra cornflakes instead.

CHOCOLATE-COVERED PEANUT BUTTER CORNFLAKE BARS
adapted from Serious Eats

4 tablespoons (½ stick) salted butter
1 cup creamy peanut butter
½ cup light corn syrup
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
4 ½ cups corn flakes, lightly crushed
6 ounces dark chocolate (I used 70% Valrhona feves)
2 teaspoons vanilla rum (or rum of your choice)
2 teaspoons heavy cream

Line an 8″ x 8″ pan with foil. In large saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Then add peanut butter, corn syrup and brown sugar. Stir and cook till melted and smooth. Stir in vanilla. Using your hands to crush them as you go, add cornflakes by the handful till combined. Press into foil-lined pan and smooth top.Melt chocolate, using the defrost setting in the microwave. Take it slow and check every 30 seconds or so to make sure it doesn’t burn. You’ll find you can help the process along by stirring each time you check.

Once completely melted, stir in rum and heavy cream till shiny and smooth. Spread evenly over top of bars.

Chill in the fridge until firm, about 2 hours–maybe even a little less if you’re not so patient. Remove from pan and cut into 16 pieces, then cut each square into triangles. This gives you the illusion of getting two treats for the price of one, HA HA!

P1160231
