P1160731
The year I turned 22, a dear family friend made me a birthday present I’ve never forgotten: an entire shirt box filled with homemade peanut butter blossoms–a.k.a. peanut butter kiss cookies. You know the ones, peanut butter cookies rolled in sugar with a Hershey’s kiss on top. All for me!

Peanut butter blossoms are high on my list of all-time faves, yet I don’t make them very often. Then someone mentioned seeing the Pioneer Woman making them, but putting peanut butter cups in instead of kisses. And making them in mini-muffin tins. But she made them out of cookie dough from a tube. Whattt? No, no, no!

If you’re gonna be a pioneer, you’re gonna bake from scratch, dammit. And if you want to truly blaze a new trail, invite bourbon to the party. While we’re taking a classic recipe in a new direction, we may as well make it extra buzz-worthy. And speaking of new, wonderful things, did you know Reese’s makes dark miniature peanut butter cups now?!

KATTY’S PEANUT BUTTER CUP COOKIES

1¼ cups + 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour  (the extra tablespoon is to compensate for the Maker’s Mark)
¾ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 stick butter (8 tablespoons), room temperature
½ cup creamy peanut butter
½ cup granulated sugar
½ cup light brown sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk
2 tablespoons Maker’s Mark (If you omit the bourbon, just cut back 1 tablespoon of flour–but why would you want to do that?!)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
48 miniature Reese’s peanut butter cups, unwrapped (Try the dark ones!)

P1160722

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Generously butter two mini muffin pans. If you have a set of four, game on. Otherwise, do this in two batches.

Unwrap the peanut butter cups so they’re ready to go as soon as the cookies come out of the oven.

One last word of advice before we get going—I found it handy to have my tongs to help me grab the cookies from the oven (without accidentally sticking my mitt into the dough), so I’ll just pass this along to you, my amici.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In your mixer bowl, cream butter and peanut butter until light and fluffy. Gradually add both sugars, again, beating until light and fluffy. Add egg, milk, bourbon and vanilla; beat well. Gradually add dry ingredients; stir into creamed mixture until well combined.

I used my my Zeroll 60 pink scoop (roughly 2 heaping teaspoons) to portion out the dough.

P1160723

Bake for 10 minutes. They’ll be slightly puffy. Remove from the oven, then immediately push a miniature peanut butter cup into the center of each cookie. The top of the peanut butter cup will be even with the top of the cookie when it’s in place.

P1160726

Cool for a good 15 minutes before moving them to a baking rack to let them cool completely. I used my offset spatula to remove them from the pan–about a half turn around the cookie so you can get underneath, then WHOOSH–off you go the baking rack! Makes 48 delightfully delicious little bourbon-laced bites! Al Pacino approves–HOOO-AHHH!

