IMG_5671

I saw a recipe for oatmeal cookies with peanut butter and pretzels and had to give it a try my own way. Based on Nanny’s recipe, as hers is my tried and true favorite, here’s this kat’s peanut buttery and crunchy spin on oatmeal cookies.

PEANUT BUTTER PRETZEL OATMEAL COOKIES WITH CHOCOLATE CHUNKS
3/4 cup salted butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup peanut butter (I like Skippy creamy)
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 cups quick oats
1/2 cup dark chocolate, chopped (Valrhona in my house)
1/2 cup broken pretzel pieces

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream peanut butter and butter till light and fluffy. Add sugars, egg, water and vanilla and beat together until creamy.

Sift together flour, salt and soda. Add to creamed mixture, blend well. Add oats and mix. Then add pretzels and chocolate and mix.

Original recipe calls for dropping by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets. I used my trusty Zeroll Universal EZ Disher scoop (#60, pink). I love and highly recommend this scoop for perfect portioning!

Bake in oven preheated to 350 degrees F. In my house, 13.5 minutes is the magic number, but could be anywhere from 12-15 minutes at yours. Letting the cookies rest on the baking sheet a few minutes makes it easier to move them from sheet to rack.

Nanny, as always, I wish you were here to bake with me. And I hope, in some way, it makes you smile out there in the universe to know your traditions live on–not just through me, but through every new person who tries your recipes. Love you always.

Nanny Poppy and Baby Janejpg

Nanny, Poppy and baby Jane (c. 1936)